Dad. Father. Good to hear from you.

I talked to God the other day. Seems weird to admit. I mean, shouldn’t people of faith be talking to God every day? What about praying without ceasing and all that?

I’ve got a confession to make. (as if I haven’t made one already) I function like a closet agnostic. I struggle with the earthly father, heavenly Father connection. The string theory which ties our experience of our child/father relationship and projects those belief systems onto God. You know, like the child who grows up with an angry dad and only receives the Bible verses of the vengeance of God. Or the girl who grew up being sexually abused by dear ole dad and sees God as a God of conditional love.

My story involves a man who was a middle child, a poster middle child. He had an older brother who became a priest in a strong Catholic family, and a baby sister who went into nursing. My dad was just a fireman. Today that would be a distinction par hero, but then not so much. He grew up scrunched between two bookends that held their parents esteem.

I don’t remember much connection with my dad. He was busy providing in an era when bringing home the bacon was the only requirement. I struggle with the same tendencies. In the area of work ethic, my dad’s example was impossible to miss.

Anyway, last week I caught myself praying for connection with God, so I could be more connected with my family. In a big family like ours it seems I would trip over connection by simply walking in the door. Connection takes effort, awareness, and intention.

Last week in a tense portion of my work day a Micheal W. Smith song popped into my brain and looped for an hour or so. I hadn’t heard the tune in quite a while. The refrain kept circling. “Your grace. Your grace. I’m nothing without you.”

I texted my wife the words. We both love Smitty. Her response was “Love him!!!!” I texted back “I wasn’t even listening to anything and this song just popped into my head and dad’s talking to me.” I had meant to write “God’s talking to me” but autocorrect put dad in there.

Sometimes it’s the little things eh?

Have you ever heard from God in a personal way?

 

 

Comments

  1. Good morning!
    Love your blog, Jerry.
    It’s amazing how God reaches out to speak to us, whether it’s thru a song or autocorrect. That’s is one of the perks of being God.
    You are a wonderful dad and husband:)
    I need to talk to him and ask him to work on my auto correct because between the Spanish keyboard and me typing in a rush I have sent some pretty strange emails. LOL
    Love to all!

  2. Awesome thoughts. I still miss my dad.

  3. rocksand5 says:

    Thank you for posting this. I was touched by your vulnerability and honesty. God, my heavenly Dad, often talks to me though song. I love it when He does!

Leave a Reply

