Could Silence Be Redeemed?

I slept too, slouched,
head propped in hand.
I take blatant naps in the chair.
Only God pulls words from the air.

I am escapist, scared,
ears covered in music.
Eyelids pulled down over the heart,
a search for an inner head start.

Can silence be redeemed?
Will hard work and sleep speak
loud enough to wake their future?
Shall I pass on the hereditary torture?

I heard it from my dad in sign languish.
He quietly walked after waking.
Off to put out fires he didn’t start,
while he smoldered from the heart.

I sleep too, slouched like my dad,
my head propped in my hand.
Only God pulls words from the air,
while I take blatant naps in the chair.
IMG_1523

Comments

  1. ‘Eyelids pulled over the heart’.. what a wonderful line!
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

