Long Shadows

As Elton said,
“Don’t let the sun go down.”

Last night as it rested briefly
on a grove of trees
a melancholy hit me in the
eyes right below the visor.

If only I could hold it up
with a tripod of candy canes.
The shadows roll out like cookie dough.

I wanted to pull the truck over
and grab garbage can lids and old pie tins
and child shaped cutters.
Cookie cut my children
out of silhouette of my truck.

All the evenings out helping Santa’s cause.
So many winking suns separate
from my children’s anticipation.

So now you golden sphere
I ask you for a continuance, please.
Give me a minute to cut them out
and lay their joy within
the light of my heart.

Leave a Reply

