Do You Meditate? Not Medicate. Meditate.

Thinking on my feet is not one of my strengths. I think better on my arse. Usually my right elbow rests on the arm of the chair. The right thumb under my chin braces my think tank. The right finger extends over the cheekbone pointing to the brain. The pointer doesn’t tap like Pooh Bear, it just rests there in hopes of pointing something out.

I think deeply about deep stuff, like when will be the last time I tie my shoes. Some people refer to intentional thinking moments as meditation. But meditation isn’t exactly what occurs when my brain cells decide to socialize and go synapsing through the ‘hood under my hood. Meditation, I’ve heard, is mulling over one idea or concept, not thought-hopping like when I press the search knob on the car radio over and over.

The Psalmists in the Old Testament of the Bible refer to the act of meditation. The first Psalm and Psalm 119 talk about meditating on the law of God. Sounds a bit boring on the surface, but the term law doesn’t mean just the Ten Commandments, although those are good references to put one’s mind to meditate. The law spans all of scripture. David had some spare time to mull over the narrative of God’s creation and written communiqué.

I see things and think about them. All day long I drive around taking in creation, including humans, and wonder and wonder. I don’t look at things, I look through them. Not every second of every moment of every day, just when I am attentive. When considering meditating on the laws of God I try to see beyond the laws to the law giver. Law giver doesn’t sound much more appealing, to me anyway. The world hears the words Law and God and sprint in the other direction. Even some people of faith hear those words and shrug their shoulders. I do sometimes.

But think of the Law Giver as a person. God is the Person of persons whose image we persons bear. To look at the law is one thing; to look through law is personal. Before any law was written in cement a Person existed to exact the law.

Meditation on the law can be a personal experience if we have eyes to see. I don’t want to simply obey the law, but to experience a person behind it. I mean, if God is good (I don’t want to engage with a god who isn’t. Who would?) behind the laws is a pure motivation for my well being. Not a constriction per se, but a freedom to know a Good God through a transcendent view.

Try this:
“Jesus wept.” John 11:35 Carry this around in your brain today. Two words. Simple. Pray it. Say it. Think it. Ponder it. Marinade it in meditation.

Comments

  1. Roxanne Fawley says:

    This brought tears to my eyes and I’m not sure why. I’ll have to think about it.

  2. Knowing God through a transcendent view – meditate, and then let it marinate your soul. Thanks, Jerry.

Leave a Reply

