Blip. Period. Spot. Dot. Monday Musing.

Yesterday I had the opportunity to speak at my church. I haven’t been hearing much from God lately. I planned on beginning with “I’ve got nothing.” God agreed and said “mind if I give you a hand?” What am I going to say…No? I suppose I could decline help, I’ve gone solo before.

I started seeing spots before my eyes, like when you look directly at the sun a bit too long. Everywhere I turned little dots appeared. The cloud clear nights produced a myriad of white-light pin pricks in the boundless sky. An acorn flipped its lid and I kicked its sphere to see how far it would roll. I saw an ant carry a single grain of sand out of a crack in the driveway. Eye contact enhanced with the awareness of their circular dark centers. Pupils.

Our lives are just a blip on the screen. The period at the end of this sentence. As I age, the spot of my life seems to diminish. My adorable little age spot. How nice.

Remember the original Toy Story movie?

“My name is Woody, and this is my spot.”

Don’t we all lay claim to a spot from time to time? Our little point of reference placed by God. We all take our spots lightly until some circumstance, like a spotlight, blinds us for a moment until we adjust to a new reality.

God in grace points out our point of existence and says “I see your point.”

God sees each dot. Even yours. Even mine.

God gives us a period of time.

A period. See that little speck after the d? See the dust mite at the bottom of the question mark?

So, what are we going to do? How are we going to spend our spit-spot allowance?

Consider Psalm 8:3,4

“When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, the moon and the stars, which You have ordained; What is man, that You are mindful of him? And the son of man, that You pay attention to him?”

Good question, but remember God is mindful of us. God pays attentions to us. How are we going to respond with our little dot of life?

Oh God, thank you for watching my blippy, spotified, dot dot dot existence. I will be more mindful of You today too. Amen.
Hand of God reaching out to Adam who receives it

Leave a Reply

